## Village of Warburg:

Minutes of an Organizational Meeting of the Council of the Village of Warburg held Monday, October 22, 2018 in Council Chambers, Village of Warburg Municipal Office.

Call to Order Mayor Kevin Maine called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

with the following in attendance:

**COUNCIL** members **PRESENT** at commencement:

Kevin Maine Mayor

Tina Smith Deputy Mayor
Dwayne Mayr Councillor
Ivan Laing Councillor
Steven Swartz Councillor

Present from Administration:

Christine Pankewitz Municipal Administrator

1. Adoption of the Agenda:

Mayor Maine called for additions/ deletions/changes to the agenda.

R6059-10-18

T. Smith MOVED:

That the agenda be approved as presented.

Carried

2. Mayor

Mayor Maine declared nominations open for the position of Mayor.

Deputy Mayor Smith nominated Councillor Maine.

Councillor Laing nominated Councillor Mayr.

No further nominations were received.

R6060-10-18

Councillor Mayr MOVED that nominations cease.

Carried

Councillor Maine was declared Mayor of the Village of Warburg for a period of one year.

Mayor Maine then took his Oath of Office for Mayor.

3. Deputy Mayor

Mayor Maine declared nominations open for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Maine nominated Deputy Mayor Smith.

Councillor Laing nominated Councillor Mayr.

No further nominations were received.

R6061-10-18 Mayor Maine MOVED that nominations cease.

Carried

Councillor Mayr was declared Deputy Mayor for a period of one year.

Deputy Mayor then took his Oath of Office for Deputy Mayor.

Village of Warburg Organizational Meeting October 22, 2018 Page 2

## **Appointments** R6062-10-18

The following committees, representatives and directors were appointed for the period of one year, by the motion of Deputy Mayor Mayr:

Public Relations and Media Mayor Kevin Maine Director to Leduc Foundation Alternate Director to Leduc Foundation Warburg & District Recreation Board Representative Warburg & District Recreation Board Rep. Alternate

FCSS Advisory Board Representative Alternate FCSS Advisory Board Representative FCSS Advisory Board Representative (County) Alternate FCSS Board Representative (County) **FCSS Advisory Board Members** 

Warburg & District Recreation Board Members (3)

Library Board Trustee Library Board Trustee (6)

Yellowhead Regional Library Board Representative Yellowhead Regional Library Board Alternate Fire Department Representative Alternate Fire Department Representative Fire Chief Deputy Fire Chief (Voted by Firefighters) Director of Emergency Management Alternate Director of Emergency Management **Economic Development Representative** Alternate Economic Development Representative **Budget/Finance Committee** Assessment Review Board Assessment Review Board Policy/Planning Excellence Committee Development & Subdivision Appeal Board Members (3)

Community Hall Board Representative Community Hall Board Representative Alternate Arena Board Representative Alternate Arena Board Representative Bloomin' Buddies Alternate Bloomin' Buddies Staff Relations (2)

39/20 Alliance Project Representatives

Hemp Representative Hemp Representative Alternate Medical Attraction & Retention Committee Medical Attraction & Retention Committee Alternate **Development Officer** 

Dwayne Mayr Steven Swartz Tina Smith Tricia Carstairs

Shelley Davis

Tina Smith Ivan Laing Tina Smith Ivan Laing Joan Hall Joan Strathoff Gail O'Neill Kim Westlin Ousana Brackley Shawna Ofstie Dwayne Mayr Sandra Kelly Giselle Klein Tami Tubbs Nikki Webber

Pamela Wattie Dwayne Mayr Kevin Maine Ivan Laing Steven Swartz Rick Carstairs John Wipf Kevin Maine Dwayne Mayr Dwayne Mayr Ivan Laing All Council Kevin Maine Ivan Laing All Council Tina Smith Steven Swartz Kevin Maine Tina Smith Dwayne Mayr Steven Swartz Ivan Laing Steven Swartz Dwayne Mayr Tina Smith Dwayne Mayr Kevin Maine Ivan Laing Dwayne Mayr Ivan Laing Dwayne Mayr Ivan Laing CAO

Carried

Village of Warburg Organizational Meeting October 22, 2018 Page 3

**MEETINGS** 

R6063-10-18

S. Swartz MOVED:

That the regular meetings of Council be held on the second Monday of each month except for the months of January, February, March, and April when two regular meetings may be held on the second and fourth Mondays of said months. When the Council Meeting falls on a holiday it will be held on the following Tuesday. Meetings to begin at 7:00 p.m in the Council Room. All Council meetings are open to the public.

Carried

SIGNING AUTHORITY

R6064-10-18

D. Mayr MOVED:

That Mayor Kevin Maine, Councillor Tina Smith, Councillor Steven Swartz and Municipal Administrator, Christine Pankewitz, be authorized as signing authority for the Village of Warburg.

Carried

MEETING FEES

R6041-10-18

T. Smith MOVED:

That regular Council meeting fees paid to the Councillors and to the Administrator be set at \$125.00 (to include the Organizational meeting if it is a separate meeting) and that the meeting fee for the Mayor be set at \$150.00 (to include the Organizational meeting if it is a separate meeting); and that a fee of \$75.00 be paid for each additional meeting. For meetings lasting over three hours a fee of \$125.00 will be paid.

Carried

**EXPENSES** 

R6042-10-18

K. Maine MOVED:

That the rate for authorized persons attending conventions and workshops while acting on Village matters shall be \$200.00, plus accommodations costs, plus meals to a maximum of \$50.00 per day, if not provided.

Carried

MILEAGE

R6043-10-18

T. Smith MOVED:

That the rate paid for mileage expenses for authorized persons be set at \$.55 per

km., provided their own vehicle has been used.

Carried

ADJOURNMENT

R6044-10-18

K. Maine MOVED:

That the Council meeting be adjourned (8:00 p.m.)

carried

These minutes approved this 12th day of November, 2018.

Christine Pankewitz Municipal Administrator